Latest Tourism News Headlines

ZAMBIA 2018 INVESTMENT ROAD MAP:Recognising the Po...
05 Feb 2018 07:41ZAMBIA 2018 INVESTMENT ROAD MAP:Recognising the Potential Giving our Visitors a Unique African Experience.

The Government of Zambia has identified tourism, including arts and culture as one of the priority growth sectors of the national economy. The tourism sector holds the potential to be a major contribu [ ... ]

30 Sep 2017 12:41

Government together with Business Regulatory Review Agency will reduce the cost of doing business and unnecessary bureaucracies in the Tourism Sector, by establishing and operationalize a Single Lic [ ... ]

Other Tourism News Headlines

Tourism Minister Inaugurates 11 ZTA Board Members

Tourism Minister Inaugurates 11 ZTA Board Members

Monday, September 25, 2017

Tourism and Arts Minister Hon. Charles Banda has said his Ministry has so far realized more than K5m against the K11m target that was set per year in March 2017 from Tourism Levy.

And the Minister has called on the newly inaugurated Zambia Tourism Agency (ZTA) Board to be creative and find alternative means to complement funding for tourism marketing.

Speaking this when he inaugurated an 11-member board at Petroda House this morning, Hon. Banda said Tourism Levy’s performance so far has proven that that the set target will be met.

He said the K5m was cash in hands and could be used for purposes of improving the tourism sector especially marketing.

The Minister said the Government was aware that currently the level of funding for tourism marketing was below that of most competitors neighbouring countries and that the Government has started addressing the problem.

Hon. Banda said one of the commitment to this the Tourism Development Fund in initiative.
The Minister said, as a matter of urgency there is need to gain a share of the regional tourism market.

Hon. Banda emphasized the need to cross the one million tourism arrivals per year mark.

Those inaugurated include Mr. Peter C. Jones, Dr. Liya Mutale, Dr. Chileshe Mulenga, Mrs Pamela Chibonga Kabamba, Mr. Amos Malupenga, Mrs Senkwe Annie Nsendukula Chungu, Mrs Kashimbaya Saya, Mrs. Victoria Sombo, Mr. Evans Muhanga, Mr. Hamoonga Ntini and Dr. Wilson Silungwe.